Thalassophile

Daily Prompt – Volume

I sat cross-legged on the sandy shore and stared at the horizon in front of me. Waves of deep royal blue crept towards me before running away, only to repeat the process in a cycle that caused droplets of salty water to spray onto my bare, sand-encrusted feet. But beyond those magical waves was something even more amazing and breath-taking: The sunset. Beautiful smudges of coral, lavender, turquoise, and a fiery orange blended together to create a sight so astounding it swept me away from all of my worries, just like the waves creeping over seashells and stealing them in a matter of seconds.

Below the surface, no matter how still, are unstoppable currents moving unimaginable volumes of briny water many thousands of kilometers. From above it seems no more alive than a bucket of water, yet below is more life than the skies above or the the land it kisses.Β The wind that gusted gave the ocean’s surface the look of shattered glass, each tiny facet both reflecting a portion of the wintry sun rays and refracting the rest.

The vast ocean in front of me was my home, where I belonged, a place to escape from my life.

No description can truly capture its mysterious majesty, yet only a few words can express its beauty.

 

53 thoughts on “Thalassophile

Add yours

  1. “Beautiful smudges of coral, lavender, turquoise, and a fiery orange blended together to create a sight so astounding it swept me away from all of my worries, just like the waves creeping over seashells and stealing them in a matter of seconds.” – I like this

    Liked by 3 people

  2. my fav line – “From above it seems no more alive than a bucket of water, yet below is more life than the skies above or the the land it kisses”. wow
    you described a single natural thing so beautifully in your own way , continue to write like this dr

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s real that pictures alone can’t capture these mysterious beauty but a few words with it express its beauty. I like it and I for first time in my life saw this beauty in your words that actually not words but an amazing imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

